ITEM 11

North Yorkshire County Council

Executive

17 October 2017

Appointments to Committees and Other Bodies

1.0 Purpose of the Report

- 1.1 To enable any appointments to outside bodies, which are to be made by the Executive under the County Council's Constitution, to be considered.
- 1.2 To enable any appointments to Committees to be recommended for approval by County Council on 8 November 2017.

2.0 Appointment to Outside Body

2.1 The Executive are asked to confirm the Council's shareholder representative for the Border to Coast Pension Partnership Limited.

3.0 Changes on Committees

3.1 The Executive are asked to recommend to County Council the following appointments:

(Home to School Transport) Appeals Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Heather Moorhouse, Karin Sedgwick, Gill Quinn and David Hugill.

Audit Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Richard Cooper, Angus Thompson, Andy Paraskos and Caroline Patmore

Care and Independence Overview and Scrutiny Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Caroline Patmore, Cliff Lunn, Andrew Jenkinson.

Corporate and Partnerships Overview and Scrutiny Committee:

County Councillor Val Arnold to be appointed in place of County Councillor Callum Walsh.

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Caroline Patmore, Cliff Lunn, Andrew Jenkinson.

Employment Appeals Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Angus Thompson, Keane Duncan, Gill Quinn and Caroline Goodrick.

Pension Fund Committee:

The Conservative Group to nominate a replacement for County Councillor Richard Musgrave.

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors David Blades, Chris Pearson, Carl Les, Robert Windass, and John Mann.

Planning and Regulatory Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors David Jeffels, Roberta Swiers, Cliff Lunn and Caroline Goodrick.

Scrutiny of Health Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Annabel Wilkinson, Stuart Martin MBE, Cliff Trotter and Keane Duncan.

Standards Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Bob Baker, John Ennis and Robert Windass.

<u>Transport, Economy and Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee:</u>

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Caroline Goodrick, John Ennis, Cliff Trotter and Chris Pearson.

Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee:

The following to be appointed as Conservative Group Substitutes – County Councillors Richard Musgrave, Zoe Metcalfe, Chris Pearson, David Jeffels and Andy Paraskos.

Area Committee Co-optees

The number of seats for co-opted Members for voluntary sector representatives on Craven Area Committees was incorrectly reported to County Council on 19 July 2017 as two, when this should have been three. Please note this correction for recommendation to County Council 8 November 2017.

4.0 Recommendations

4.1 That the Executive confirm the appointment to the outside body specified in paragraph 2.1.

ITEM 11

- 4.2 That the Executive are asked to recommend to County Council the appointments set out in paragraph 3.1.
- 4.3 That any proposals for the re-allocation of seats, if necessary to achieve political proportionality, or for changes to memberships or substitute memberships of committees, or other bodies to which the Council makes appointments put forward by the relevant political group, prior to or at the meeting of the Council, be agreed.

Barry Khan Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services) County Hall Northallerton

9 October 2017

JOD

Background documents: None